Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Galkan gardening tips!

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Feylorn
Admin
Admin
Feylorn

Galkan gardening tips! Empty
PostSubject: Galkan gardening tips!   Galkan gardening tips! Icon_minitimeMon Mar 01, 2010 5:43 pm

Well, I've been doing gardening in game since I started playing, so that's 4 years now!

Firstly I have to say, ignore pretty much every gardening guide out there, apart from the lists of which pot/seed/crystal combos 'ca' get you what items.
All that bumf about planting on certain days, at certain times and moon phases is meaningless, any (unproven) effect that stuff might have on your results is minute at best, and non-existent at worst. Oh, and if you are going to do it, use your full allowance of 10 pots to make it worth your time.

The things that 'will' affect your results are-
Type of Pot - generally affects the amount of items you get at the end, but the variance isn't that big. Simple brass pots can do just as well as expensive arcane ones most of the time.
Type of seeds - This is a biggie, as each seed type produces a set group of results. Pick the ones that can get you what you are after!
Type of crystal - This again has a big effect, as it determines the subgroup of items you can get from each seed, pick the right one for what you want again.

I'm not going to list recepies here apart from a couple I use regularly, as there are plenty of seed/pot/crystal combo lists online.

So, what do I grow?

Mainly I grow tree saplings to make gil from. Saplings if grown with no crystals and in any pot, take about 4 weeks RL time till you can harvest them, but they only have 3 items they can produce: Gold leaf, possible to get more than a stack from each plant, and sells for 15k a stack.
Reishi mushroom, only tend to get 1 or 2 per plant, but again sells for 15k a stack.